Choate Attorneys Recognized in Best Lawyers in America® 2023

The Best Lawyers in America® has recognized 49 Choate attorneys in its 2023 edition. Recognition in Best Lawyers® is based entirely on peer review and is widely regarded by both clients and legal professionals as a significant honor.

Co-managing partner – William P. Gelnaw, Jr. – is named “Lawyer of the Year” in Boston for Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships). This recognition is awarded to individual attorneys with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region.

Three attorneys – Dann Bruno (Corporate Law), Kristen C. Buteau, (Patent Law), and Stephanie L. Schonewald, Ph.D. (Intellectual Property Law and Patent Law) – are listed as “Ones to Watch” for the third year in a row. These awards are given to attorneys who are earlier in their careers for outstanding professional excellence in private practice in the U.S.

More than 30 Choate attorneys have been recognized for over 10 years, and many are listed in multiple categories, including:

Antitrust Law – Robert M. Buchanan, Jr

Appellate Practice – Joan A. Lukey, Margaret H. Marshall, and A. Hugh Scott

Banking and Finance Law – Lyman G. Bullard, Jr., James A. McDaniel, Scott J. Moore, Peter M. Palladino, and John F. Ventola

Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law – Douglas R. Gooding, Kevin J. Simard, and John F. Ventola

Bet-the-Company Litigation – Jack Cinquegrana, Joan A. Lukey, and A. Hugh Scott

Biotechnology & Life Sciences Law – Michael H. Bunis, Brenda Herschbach Jarrell, Ph.D., Charles E. Lyon, and Eric J. Marandett

Business Organizations – William P. Gelnaw, Jr.

Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law – A. Silvana (Nan) Giner

Commercial Litigation – Michael H. Bunis, Mark D. Cahill, Jack Cinquegrana, Robert S. Frank, Jr., Michael T. Gass, Joan A. Lukey, Margaret H. Marshall, E. Macey Russell, and A. Hugh Scott

Corporate Law – William P. Gelnaw, Jr., Brian P. Lenihan, John A. Meltaus, Stephen O. Meredith, and Peter M. Palladino

Corporate Compliance Law – Michael T. Gass

Corporate Governance Law – Michael T. Gass

Criminal Defense: General Practice – Jack Cinquegrana and Diana K. Lloyd

Criminal Defense: White Collar – Adam J. Bookbinder, Jack Cinquegrana, Diana K. Lloyd, A. Hugh Scott, and Melissa Bayer Tearney

Employment Law: Individuals – Joan A. Lukey

Employment Law: Management – Alison F. Reif

Health Care Law – Lee S. Feldman, Julia R. Hesse, and Christine G. Savage

Insurance Law – David A. Attisani, Mark D. Cahill, Robert A. Kole, A. Hugh Scott

Litigation: Antitrust – Robert M. Buchanan, Jr.

Litigation: Bankruptcy – Douglas R. Gooding and John F. Ventola

Litigation: First Amendment – Joan A. Lukey

Litigation: Intellectual Property – Michael H. Bunis, Robert S. Frank, Jr., Eric J. Marandett, and Paul D. Popeo

Litigation: Labor & Employment – Joan A. Lukey

Litigation: Patent – Robert S. Frank, Jr. and Eric J. Marandett

Litigation: Personal Injury (Plaintiffs) – Joan A. Lukey

Litigation: Product Liability (Defendants) – Joan A. Lukey

Litigation: Securities – Jack Cinquegrana and Diana K. Lloyd

Non-Profit/Charities Law – Charles A. Cheever

Patent Law – Brenda Herschbach Jarrell, Ph.D., Charles E. Lyon, Rolando Medina

Privacy and Data Security Law – Adam J. Bookbinder

Private Funds/Hedge Funds Law – Louis J. Marett

Project Finance Law – Peter M. Palladino

Real Estate Law – Gregg B. Cosimi, Brian J. King, and Paul C. Laudano

Securities Regulation – John R. Pitfield

Securitization and Structured Finance Law – Peter M. Palladino

Sports Law – Lyman G. Bullard, Jr.

Tax Law – Louis J. Marett

Technology Law – John A. Meltaus

Trade Secrets Law – Paul D. Popeo

Trusts & Estates – Kristin T. Abati, Charles A. Cheever, A. Silvana (Nan) Giner, and Brian W. Monnich

Venture Capital Law – Brian D. Goldstein, Kimberley J. Kaplan-Gross, Brian P. Lenihan, and John A. Meltaus